FRAML: DATABASES

The Library offers a variety of outlets for our community to locate articles, eBooks, eJournals, and databases. Take a moment to familiarize yourself with "Library lingo." 

A-Z Databases

A database is a helpful starting point for users to find information on a single subject or a group of subject areas. For instance, AccessMedicine is a database that our community can search to find eBooks, online Q&A, and multimedia e-resources across multiple subjects. If a student searches in AccessMedicine for "psoriasis" they will find results from all relevant e-resources across multiple disciplines. In addition, databases, like MEDLINE Complete offer students a place to search across thousands of online journals for articles. Our community can explore a comprehensive list of our Databases on our A-Z Database website.

Publication Finder (eBooks & eJournals)

Our community can use Publication Finder ("Find eBooks and eJournals" on our website) as their starting point. Publication Finder is a great starting point for "known item searching" (i.e. you know the title) or want to search by subject. Furthermore, Publication Finder searches across multiple databases for results--bringing the results together in one easy-to-navigate interface. For example, students can search for JAMA Dermatology in Publication Finder and determine if they can access the full text. If the full text is available, students will be linked to the database and landing page for the specific journal. Also, students can search for Dermatology to explore all of the journals in our collection that cover Dermatology. 

Library Literature Search

Our community can use Library Literature Search to access eBooks, eJournals, full-text PDFs, and submit article purchase requests. Think Google Scholar, but for libraries. It is the easiest way to search for resources in our collection. Students should never hit a paywall when they start their search on our homepage.